Should I apply for MA license?

Paleoman

NES Member
Hi,

I'm a NH resident, who has taken the Sig Sauer Handgun 101 class back in April (and have been continuing to take classes since, and for the foreseeable future). I have the form they give you for applying for a MA license.

In mY longer term goals, I think I'd like to try IDPA or similar competitions as a way to practice what I'm learning. It may be a year or more (I need to work on my skills and learn more about the competitions), before I give competition a try.

Here are the questions...

Will there be ample venues in NH for the various competitions?

Would there be more options to compete in MA (Eastern), when I get to that point?

I have the application and training certificate for a MA license from April class, should I submit it now (I hear it takes a long time)?

Will my training certificate expire and not be usable later on?

Would subsequent training classes be usable for the MA license application, if the original certificate expires?

Thanks in advance!

IMO, the non res LTC is not worth it if competitive shooting is what your after. Stay north of the border. There's a better gun culture in VT,NH and ME. Not all that much going on down here in comparison. If you come down here to visit just carry knives and pepper spray and try to stay out of shitty areas.

if i lived in NH, I would never set foot in MA again. hopefully that answers your question.

Ive been a lifelong MA resident with a strong secondary home for 20 years. I still have a 1/3 family tie in this state that will soon shrink to 0/0. I also still have an employee/employment connection.

I'm standing on a banana peal waiting for my last trip northbound. When I leave... I leave for good. I'll drive around the state or carry thru it like other friends do and take my chances.

In short these takers can suck it. That is what they have set for a goal line and that is what I'm doing.