• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Steel Cased pistol ammo...Good or Bad ?

glockstar

NES Member
I have heard alot of ppl say that steel cased pistol ammo is a no no, but being a cheaply priced as it is Id like to hear a few opinions on the subject. obviously brass is softer and reloadable but what are the draw backs to steel other than that?

Glock, I have no personal experience, but have been warned by many that it can damage the gun. Perhaps someone like Q can provide the details as to why.

Generally bad. There is only one reason to use steel rather than brass to make cases, it is cheaper. Cheap ammo is cheap ammo.

I've shot some but prefer not to.

So it was some guy at the range?

Steel cased ammo is fine if that's what you can afford. Lots of people don't like it for lots of reasons - it can't be reloaded, people tend to leave it on the ground- messing up the range, it corrodes more quickly than brass cased ammo when improperly stored long term, and it tends to smell bad when you shoot it. All of these things are true and good reasons to not like steel cased ammo.

But it won't hurt your gun.

Last edited:
So it was some guy at the range?

Steel cased ammo is fine if that's what you can afford. Lots of people don't like it for lots of reasons - it can't be reloaded, people tend to leave it on the ground- messing up the range, it corrodes more quickly than brass cased ammo when improperly stored long term, and it tends to smell bad when you shoot it. All of these things are true and good reasons to not like steel cased ammo.

But it won't hurt your gun.

Thanks for the clarification Eddie. Could they have been referring to it corroding and the operator not noticing before firing? Just a thought.

I have no idea what they might've been referring to. Lots of guys I meet at the range have no idea what they're talking about.