• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Free LTC Renewal at 70-Not So???

Billsail

NES Member
My LTC expires on my 70th birthday. Well it seems I'll be missing out on a "senior citizen" benefit that I thought I'd be getting. If I'm still around for my next renewal, I'll get it then, six years down the road.

I know some here in the forum will flame me, and say that no one should get any benefits from .gov, but hey, I've been paying for a license for 40 years...throw me a bone?

From my town PD website:

4. Costs

LTC (new applicant and renewals unless 70+) $100
LTC renewal over 70+ years of age $0
FID (new applicant and renewals) $100
FID (15-17 Yrs old) $25
Chemical (new applicant and renewals) $25
Anyone over the age of 70, meaning 70 + 1 day, is eligible to receive a permit renewal free of charge.

I say this is BS, and if I'm 70 years and one minute old, I'm over 70!

/feeble rant

The law (and the training for LOs) is clear that the intent of that exemption was that if the date your new LTC is to become valid is your 70th birthday, you get it free. You might get CJIS/FRB to provide a proper explanation to present to your chief.

There are some PDs (and my PD has been guilty of this in the past I am told) refuse to do that and pocket the $100 (since they will not get billed the $75 from CJIS)! Shady, crooked dealings but we all should be used to that by now! [angry]

I'm in the same boat as you but have some years to go. I'm hoping not to be in MA by then and likely will have to deal with a different chief (if still in MA) by then.

My 83 year old grandmother still has her LTC in Gloucester and I'm pretty sure she hasn't had to pay to renew for awhile. She's kept a loaded S&W model 36 snub in the house since the 60s. God bless her.