• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Bass Pro Shop Loses Another Sale

So, I'm a MA resident, and Bass Pro Shops was such a huge deal coming to a town near me. I couldn't have been more pleased. So, I try to shop there, spend my money, so the place doesn't get closed down. But, every time I try to buy something expensive there, it doesn't work out...

So this happened to me there 2 weekends ago. I decide I need another gun cabinet to hold some ammo and stuffs. I already have one StackOn brand that I like, so I figure I'll get a matching one, don't change what works. I bought the other one at Dick's Sporting Goods, so instead I check online at Bass Pro. Yes, they have it. Sweet. So I borrow the brother in-law's car since it won't fit into my sedan. This is pain, now I owe him. But I need the cabinet. So I drive to Bass Pro on Saturday. Place is a zoo as always, hot dogs being cooked, kids running around, its not a store it is an amusement park. I could go on about the fact that supporting such an atmosphere must cost money and translate to higher prices on goods, but I digress...

So I get inside, stand at gun counter for about 20 minutes before I snag a guy. I tell him I want to buy the cabinet on display, which I have located. He is helpful and tells me to grab the tag and they'll help me get it into the car. Sweet. I get the tag, he looks it up in computer. They are out of stock. Mind you the place is beyond huge, but I guess with all the fish tanks and stuff there wasn't enough room for storing goods. Anway, these things happen, the item is probably popular. No problem. So I ask if perhaps I could buy the display model, because it is closed and it's a metal cabinet so who cares. Salesman says sure, no problem.