Storing gun in car while at work? gun law?

im pretty sure i read somewhere that you can leave a firearm stored in your trunk in a locked container, loaded.

i can not carry in work. but id like to have the gun on me while out of work. i asked a state cop who details at my work and he looked at me like a criminal and said it is completely illegal to leave a weapon unattended in your car. he gave me the dirtiest look EVER.

is this cop ill-informed? or is that true?

You can have a gun stored in your car but it must be unloaded and in a locked container. The container must be secured to the vehicle. The ammo cant be in the same container. When I get to work, I unload and put the gun in a console vault. I take the ammo with me because there is no rule specific to ammo where I work.

Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer and I amy in fact be wrong about this but it is what I will do until I find out it is wrong.

What a jerk that cop was- here you are trying to get information to do the right thing and he treats you like pond scum because you can't read minds and already know the answer.

You can have a gun stored in your car but it must be unloaded and in a locked container. The container must be secured to the vehicle. The ammo cant be in the same container. When I get to work, I unload and put the gun in a console vault. I take the ammo with me because there is no rule specific to ammo where I work.

Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer and I amy in fact be wrong about this but it is what I will do until I find out it is wrong.

Sounds good but I was unaware the container had to be secured to the vehicle. Would a locked container in a locked trunk be enough?

From the MGL The way I read it as long as it is stored properly in your vehicle its legal.

Per MGL c. 140, s. 131C: