• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Need some opinions

btnh6668

NES Member
So for almost a year i have been looking for a Vepr 16" 308 with very little luck. So my question is do i continue my search or do i settle on a New Vepr 16" 6.5 grendel? I have no experience with the 6.5 grendel round. This rifle will be used for range fun only. How is the recoil in comparison to the 308?

Here are my pros and cons on the 6.5
Pros: brand new rifle
steel cased ammo is about the same cost as the 308 (when every availability comes back)
Same size and style of rifle i am looking at
magazines are cheaper than the 308
Cons: Another caliber to deal with
I already have 2 rifles in 308 so the ammo is plentiful
not as many ammo options both locally and online for a MA resident.

What are your thoughts?

2 different guns. The AR-308 is bigger than a standard AR-15 with larger a larger lower and upper.

It’s my understanding that the 6.5G is really a long distance round that needs a specific BCG, but that upper and BCG should fit on any AR lower.

The 6.5 Creedmoor fits on an AR-10 lower. Is that what you meant? My suggestion would be to build your own AR-10. If you are patient, you can find parts here and elsewhere for good prices. At least that’s what I did. I wouldn’t mind a 6.5CM upper, but really don’t need another caliber in the stable.

Why do you want a .308 Vepr? Let's answer that first.