• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Moved to NH, but my MA LTC hasn't expired yet...is it still valid?

Thedon88

NES Member
Moved to freedom at the end of August, and my MA LTC doesn't expire until the end of 2025.

I'm an official NH resident with a NH driver's license and plates. Does anyone know if my MA LTC is still valid...haven't been able to find a definitive answer and I don't want to call the MA state police and ask for obvious reasons. I'm still a member at a couple clubs in MA and would like the peace of mind to know if I can still bring my (MA compliant) guns and mags there and shoot.

My parents still live in MA as well, and I would like to carry there when visiting in order to defend them if necessary.

Lol, check your LTC in the MIRCS verification portal, I bet it is still valid. Even if you sent in the required-by-law ratting-on-yourself letters.

I have been of the opinion that your LTC is valid UNTIL IT EXPIRES, regardless of what the state "feels", EOPS does not actually expire these licenses even though they have the
ability to do so. There are also some issuing authorities that have told their carriers the same thing. (2nd and 3rd parties have told me their LO said it was fine)

Whatever POV you decide to go with, DO NOT THROW THAT LICENSE AWAY or grind it up. Even an expired LTC is a huge protectant from jail if you ever got caught south of the border with
something. (it reduces the punishment for base level unlawful posession from jayle down to a civil infrac + fine + maybe loss of gun lol)

Make your snail mail NR LTC application with $100 certified bank check and wait 6 months for your in-person Chelsea interview. What else would you expect from MA.

Factually untrue, nobody can actually show me in the law where it forces revocation or expiration of an active MA LTC merely for the sin of not being a resident anymore.