I'm liking my new CMP M1Carbine, but would you really want to carry this into combat?

Rockrivr1

NES Member
In a plinking role I really like this M1 Carbine. But if I was a soldier in WWII, I'm thinking I'd want something a little more powerful. Does anyone know what the role was supposed to be for these rifles? While I know the balistics are probably way different, I'm wondering if the 30 cal is similiar to our troops now using .223.

Would you want to carry this rifle in Combat?

While it's not a main battle rifle, it served it's purpose better then expected. Even for front line units, Officers and Non Coms who would have had only a .45 procured these for more accuracy at moderate distance then a pistol could provide. Not overly powerful, but in close, like in house to house fighting in W.W.II it was more then adequate.

That said, the best rifle ever carried by U.S. Troops, considering effective range and accuracy in IMHO was the M14.

There's a lot of bodies in the dirt with carbine rounds tucked in em...Not the most effective cartridge ever made, but it worked.

My grandfather carried one toward the end of WWII after losing his Thompson in an explosion. While waiting for a replacement, (found or shipped), he got a Paratrooper Carbine and carried it for the rest of the war. He did a fair amount of killing, (Airborne) and waxed poetic about both the M1 Carbine and Thompson dispatching humanity that was trying to dispatch him...I would take one into combat, (God forbid), but would carry it knowing there were better options out there....

Ballistically it's a little better than a .357magnum ...the round that was feared when it first came out and is still touted as a great man stopper.

Seems that there are 1,000's of dead Japs, Germans, Koreans and VietCong that might tell you that it's a good round, if they could.

I like shooting my Carbine, but carry it into combat? No, I don't think so.