Finding Pre-bans

Gually

NES Member
Hey NES,
So I'm new to shooting and new to the forum. I bought my first gun a few months ago (M&P Shield Plus - very happy with it) but within the next few months I will be in the market for another toy or two, in particular a pre ban carbine (Massachusetts so 1998 or earlier if im not mistaken) of some kind and I'm wondering if anyone has any suggestions of specific guns, any gun shops in or near Western Mass with a pre ban selection, websites etc to check out? Or any tips of what to look for/anything to avoid?

I've seen some individuals with some pre ban AR's for sale and I'm sure they're great but most that I've seen are upwards of $2500 and I'd prefer a budget option under $1500.

Thanks guys!

I had luck in the past buying prebans on gunbroker. Often times a dealer (in the cases I saw the most, a pawn shop) will list a preban and not mark it as preban. A simple serial lookup can confirm when it was made.

If you want to pay used prices for old guns without the huge preban markup, thats my best suggestion. Might take a few weeks to snag one, but last time I was looking they were there.

Do yourself a favor and one Saturday morning take a nice relaxing ride to "The Mill" in Littleton. Yes, it's a little bit of a haul for you, but you'll be happy you did.

As to price, just remember that new AR-15s technically cannot be sold in MA, so the ones in circulation will demand a premium price. Though I think $2,500 is on the high side. I've seen them running around $1,800 here on the forum. +