Carry One In The Chamber

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am new to carrying. I have a PPS 9mm....the new Walther thats super slim.

The only holster available is a balistic Nylon in pant.

I wonder how people carry their Semi's.

I am afraid to carry with one in the chamber...afraid somehow it'll end poorly.

Is the slide time equivalent to "death time?"

Thoughts?

You should carry one in the chamber or at least practice a lot at the range being able to draw and chamber a round in the same action. Carry everywhere you go that you can legally carry and you'll get more comfortable; then you can be less afraid of carrying a live round in the chamber

Most will recommend (including myself) that you carry with one in the chamber, realistically it would just take time to try to rack the slide (while your shaking) if you need to fire upon a bad guy, and time is something that you don't have on your side when you need to do this.

dry practice your presentation from holster at home, then practice at range, this will give you confidence on your draw as well.

There are no bad choices when it comes to tactics, there are just consequences. the consequences of carrying without one in the chamber is, it will take you significantly longer to get a shot off when every second counts. could you do it, possibly, would I personaly take the chance that I will have that time required to rack the slide and hope I wont mess it up... Nope, this is why I carry with one in the chamber. (also gives you one extra cartridge at your disposal which is a +)

Carry in the chamber or don't bother carrying. Get a holster that you feel comfortale with - something that covers the trigger guard fully and the gun won't fall out of.

If that doesn't help you feel comfortable with it get a different gun with an external safety or a DA trigger with a firmer pull - something you're not going to be paranoid about.