AKM build

Cluster F

USMC Veteran
NES Member
So I want to build an AK. I have some knowledge as I have build one before from a kit and 100% reviever. I am impatient and don't want to wait for Nodaks to come back in stock and was looking for alternatives for a 100% receiver and all I can find is southern armament. I want to build an under folder and they have them. Any reviews on them or any other companies? Or should I suck it up and wait for nodak. I already emailed them to be out on a notification list. Or I could go fixed stock and get the nodak I need to drill all the trunnion holes for which scares me since just doing the front ones on my other one was hairy.

Last edited:
rear hole placement not nearly as crucial as front trunnion hole placement.

did you use a jig for front trunnion hole drilling. if not this is perhaps why it was 'hairy'

i would not worry about getting fixed stock receiver and then just making proper holes and cuts for an underfolder.
i did same for my sidefolder build.

they only place i can suggest (which i'm gonna use for my next build) is childers
they have 80% fixed stock pre-heat-treated receivers. AFAIK it's mil-spec polish Radom made ak47 and ak74 receivers. good quiality stuff. since they lack all holes besides FCG and mag you can adapt those to pretty much any build you want with just some patience, dremmel and set of carbide burrs.

Last edited:
I didn't use a jig for the front haha but nodak has plain fixed stock with no holes drilled receivers in stock. I may just be impatient and get a fixed stock kit. The under folder is just something I have never had although very impractical in MA cause it has to be fixed

I'd wait for a NODAK, I like their quality.

Did you try putting a WTB add on the akfiles? Someone somewhere has an extra.

I have built on Southern Armament and Ohio Ordnance Works receivers. We did a group buy a couple years ago on OOW, and got them for like $40 each.