where S&W get the bad rep from

some time ago when i just got into shooting/owning guns i overheard on few occasions about s&w being not very good quality. at the time i didn't have much experience with any guns and understandably those words left an imprint in my brain, and ever since i feel somewhat stand-off-ish towards S&W, although initially i loved how M&p looks and feel an wanted to get it as my first handgun. now i'm hearing the opposite - S&w is good/great quality.
maybe what i've heard was a BS and i took it at face value due to lack of personal experience but damage was already done. any thoughts on where bad rep might come from?

I am new to shooting civilian, but I have the same experience with Glock. First person I talked to swore they would never own a Glock for x/y/z, and now I do not want one. I think all it takes is for you to talk to the guy who had issues with a particular gun to get a bad mindset about a particular brand. Could have been he had a used gun by S&W that was not maintained and it FTF'd on him repeatedly, or any of the thousands of issues bad maintenance can cause, and the first instinct is to blame the gun rather than taking responsibility for operator error.

I have been wrong before, YMMV.

I have a S&W 908 and I love it. It is a single stack 9mm with a 3.5" barrel. Great carry gun. I have put alot or rounds through it as did my friend who owned it before me. The gun as never had one FTF of FTE. I couldn't ask for a more reliable firearm.

Ownership was changed a couple of times IIRC, and now they are great again. YMMV

Get what you are comfortable with and try them all before you buy. Many members are very generous with their toys and time.