• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Someone in southern NH help me out?

Hello all I'm glad I found this site earlier today as it seems to be the first useful one I've come across, I live in Plaistow, NH which is near the Derry/Salem area on the Haverhill, MA border.
Although I've had a long interest in firearms, I'm fairly new with actually firing them. I've lived in Plaistow, NH for a few years, but only recently have I found someone to share my interest with, my girlfriend's stepdad. Real nice guy and he's helped me out with my first few gun purchases (I'm really into the military surplus, the uglier the better too... for some reason) and fire off a few rounds at a nearby sandpit.
The problem? The sandpit is near him, about a 2 hour drive. [frown]
I'd like to try to find some place (and people) closer by so I can have some fun more often. If it means joining a club, or a local sandpit or public land, that's fine... I just don't like the idea of shooting alone, not to mention I'm not so sure where I'd do it anyway. The gun clubs near here seem to be well-stocked with members, and the officers are hard to reach without seeming like you're bugging them (since their information numbers are apparently their home numbers.)
So, in short, if you don't mind hanging a bit and shooting with someone fairly new (I'm a nice, quiet guy, very friendly.) or showing them around a club, please let me know.
I really want to try out my new Romanian WASR-10... it's my first big "dream" purchase (yes, an ak, maybe I'm odd) while I have a week or so off from work.

If anyone is interested, my first 3 guns, in order were:
a Turkish Mauser (1936 according to the markings, dinged up darkened wood but it shoots very well and very fluidly, I love it. I've always loved the sound the Mauser bolt makes, and I wanted to get a German surplus, but... couldn't afford it.)