Is Hopkinton Sportsmen's Association Walk-in friendly?

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to Massachusetts (Needham) and after researching some local clubs, settled on Hopkinton Sportsmen's Association looking like the best fit for my family. I grew up hunting in a military family and my wife is in law enforcement. With the kids coming of age and the area I live in being much different than the farmland I grew up on, I'm finding it difficult to get them introduced to gun control. I'm more into hunting, but with rifles being a no-no for hunting in this state, a pistol range and sporting clays are probably my next favorite gun past times :)

Any who, I saw that you need a sponsor to become a member. Given we are new to the area, can I just walk-in and talk to somebody about my wanting to join but not knowing any members?

Thank you,

Drew

Great first post! I have no experience with the club you mentioned, but emails work well for questions and tour scheduling at most clubs. Why not attend a public event and meet some members in person. Express your interest at the end of the event so that you can experience how they treat new people. Enjoy and welcome to the forum.

I believe skeet and trap on Sundays starting at 9:30am and Tuesdays starting at 6:30pm are open to the public. Never done it myself so I don't know for 100% certainty. Think the USPSA events are also open but once again haven't done one of those. There are a number of members on this board as well including myself but others will certainly have better info then I do. A friend of mine was a member. That is how I got my sponsorship. I know they want a new member to at least have been at the club and have shot with their sponsor.

Overall in my opinion it's a good club. I've never had an issue there with anyone. Never had an issue with availability of the ranges but I know that can happen so I'm prepared for the occurrence. Everyone I've met and talked to has been super friendly to myself and my family.