• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Scope suggestion for my first AR15

Hi guys im a newbie here, well my first real post anyway. I first want to say all my experience is with pistols, I carry one everyday and I have no experience with AR15s at all so if I sound like I dont know what im talking about thats why lol. That being said I bought my first AR last week without even shooting one. I got a Colt LE6920 SOCOM (hope I made a good choice) I got that because I was doing research and heard great thing about the 6920 series and I live in MA and the pickings were slim around here and this was available and I had extra money so I said what the hell. Im excited to shoot it this week and I was just wondering what is a good scope/red dot to get? I was reading up on the Aimpoint Pro and heard that was one of the best for the buck so im just looking for suggestions before I grab one this week? Also any other suggestions for anything on the rifle will be appreciated, thanks

It depends on how far you intend to shoot, what the gun's purpose is, what you can do, and how much you want the gun to weigh. The Aimpoint pro isn't exactly a scope, it's a red dot. It doesn't have magnification but will give you faster target acquisition than regular sights.

I'm partial to the vortex strkefire .
Red/ green dot. $140_160 range if you watch the sales.
Holds zero great.
Good battery life.

200 yards is max at my range, I tried to search how far the Aimpoint was accurate for and I read some people say up to 300 yards and some no more then 100

200 yards is max at my range, I tried to search how far the Aimpoint was accurate for and I read some people say up to 300 yards and some no more then 100