New LTC Holder, looks for carry suggestions

Hi!

I just recieved my LTC. I am new to firearms in general and am studying up on all aspects of firearms before I start actually carrying.

What I would like from the members on here are suggestions on which caliber to carry. I will be using the firearm for personal protection and it will be on my waist most of the time. I already know I want a Glock, I just don't know which caliber I should get. Can someone tell me the differences between each caliber?

Also any other suggestions on carrying would be welcome.

Thanks!

glock 40 caliber in whatever frame fits your needs, I use a Glock22

Since Glocks are super expensive in MA you might want to look at the S&W M&P line .

join a club, find a public range, shoot often to get and stay proficient

Read Massad Ayoobs book "In The Gravest Extreme"

9mm is a good round, .45ACP will stop an elephant, the .40 S&W round is a compromise between the 9 and .45 that is widely accepted in the law enforcement community. 10mm is an orphan round.. it never caught on, the .357 sig has some interesting characteristics, and many of us who have 40 caliber weapons can drop a lone wolf or other after market barrel in our gun and shoot either .40 S&W or .357 Sig. The magazines work with both cartridges.

If you get a semi auto do not keep chambering a round and when unchambering it when you put it away put the bullet back in the magazine to use again. In the Glock .40's it has been problematic meaning that it may be the cause of the guns blowing up. 9mm's are not prone to this but the Glock 40's are well know for KB'ing.

Sig make a great product don't ignore them.

Last edited:
Hi!

I just recieved my LTC. I am new to firearms in general and am studying up on all aspects of firearms before I start actually carrying.