• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

I HATE CASE TRIMMING!!

deerdad

NES Member
Tonight I started working on about 100 once fired 30-06 brass that I had bought for reloading. I got used to reloading for 9mm and this is my first time with bottleneck cases. These are for my Garand. Cases were cleaned when I got them so I started with the depriming and a full length resize. That was easy. Next came trim to length. I had bought the LEE Quick-Trim that mounts on the press and has the crank. I already know I want something different because it took me almost 2 hrs to do about 100 cases. It had no consistency and I had to stop and check every case and do them again to try to get them about the same. They would range anywhere from 2.490-2.479 after trimming. It took multiple tries on each one, but I finally got them all from 2.479-2.481.(a little under the trim to length). What would be my best option for a trimmer that would easily see under 1,000 cases per year for use? I don't want anything to do with this trimmer again. I don't mind being bored while doing this but I would just like to be able to trim once and go on to the next one and not have to keep measuring each one multiple times.

Greg

Giraud. Period.

Buy one. It's worth every last penny. Trim cases and chamfer inside/outside in under 2 seconds per piece and they all come out +/-.001 in length.

I trimmed 1600 pcs of 223 this weekend in one sitting in just over an hour while watching TV.

I use an RCBS Power Trimmer. It trims, chamfers and deburrs all in one operation. Not as good as a Giraud, but less $.

Giraud. Period.

Buy one. It's worth every last penny. Trim cases and chamfer inside/outside in under 2 seconds per piece and they all come out +/-.001 in length.

I trimmed 1600 pcs of 223 this weekend in one sitting in just over an hour while watching TV.

This.