• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

How do you secure your weapons for travel?

Hi ALl,

Right now I have 3 firearms, and dealing with 3 different cable locks is starting to be a pain in the ass.

What do you do? Trigger locks keyed alike? Skip the individual locks and get a travel case that is lockable?

locking cases with padlocks. Single lock on each case fulfills legal requirements as far as I've been able to find out. I am not a lawyer though, this is just how I transport mine.

If they are Handguns, get small cases with Combo-Locks. Set them all to the same Combo.

They have these everywhere: Gun Shops, Target, Walmart, Amazon, eBay, Staples, Harbor Freight, etc.

using combination cable locks for all 5 cases, and yes all with the same combination
Hi ALl,

Right now I have 3 firearms, and dealing with 3 different cable locks is starting to be a pain in the ass.

What do you do? Trigger locks keyed alike? Skip the individual locks and get a travel case that is lockable?

Hi ALl,

Assuming you're in Mass, trigger locks (on the actual trigger) can not be used to comply with transport requirements--they're only acceptable for storage. Most transport requires a locked case, which a trunk is considered acceptable. For SUV or pickup you'd need a locked case, which a soft case is okay.

If you have one of those cable locks that come with a pistol then you can sometimes take that and wrap it around the handle on the case to make it compliant. It's a little awkward but it works for most glock and sig provided locks and cases.

see http://www.northeastshooters.com/vbulletin/massachusetts-laws/196124-transporting-dissalembed.html

FOR ME:

soft cases to prevent scratching, unloaded, put in trunk

handgun under direct control

Last edited:
Hi ALl,

Are you in MA? In MA, a trigger lock is not sufficient to meet the law. From MGL Chapter 140 Section 131c: