Flying with Handguns

Hi everyone - I am flying into [STRIKE]Kansas[/STRIKE] Kansas City MO to purchase a new car on Monday. I am flying with United Airlines and would like to bring my gun along. Has anyone done this before? I've actually contacted UA and you wouldn't believe who answered the phone.... Bill from India! I couldn't understand a word he was saying! ...nothing against Indian people.

Here is the information from TSA and from UA.

http://www.united.com/page/article/0,3224,1035,00.html

http://www.tsa.gov/travelers/airtravel/assistant/editorial_1666.shtm

Kansas has no purchase laws, but has carry laws... I'm guessing concealed.

*Heres the kicker. I'm a MA resident and want to fly out of Providence RI (I don't have a RI lecense, only a LTC ALP). Bill on the phone said I needed to show gun information along with a permit to carry. I don't know if he was right, or if he was even saying that at all....

EDIT: I have a layover in Washington DC as well. Am I still OK?

I'm going to be staying in some hotel/motels and would like to know I'm all safe thus why I'm asking about this.

Last edited:
For starters here's a list of State licenses that Kansas Honors:

Alaska Arizona Arkansas Colorado Florida
Hawaii Kentucky Louisiana Michigan Minnesota
Missouri Nebraska Nevada New Jersey New Mexico
North Carolina Ohio Oklahoma South Carolina Tennessee
Texas West Virginia
Kansas Honors Non-Resident Permits/Licenses

And I'm not sure but I believe you need to begin and end your flight in a State that you are legally licensed.

Edit: Pilgrim types faster than me

Kansas is an Open Carry state, so that's an option, but I'd research the heck out of it and make sure out-of-staters can open-carry. You'd also need to know the open-carry laws of each town you went to, as there's town-level restrictions.

Thanks guys!

Actually, I should have said Kansas City MO which does honor the MA license according to USAcarry.com buy I'm flying out of RI.