• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Another range suicide

I’m not tech savvy enough to post a link but Maine Military Supply had a woman who did herself in on Tuesday. I had seen the post on an immediate full store closing but didn’t know why until this morning when a friend text me.
Glad I wasn’t there.
I witnessed one last year. Pretty shitty thing to do.

Are range suicides becoming more common, or are they just reported more?

Subjectively it seems like more and more public ranges have “bring a friend” or “have your own guns” requirements; but I recognize my data is pretty sparse and incomplete.

That sucks to put that on someone. Had a relative that was a truck driver, guy ran head on into his rig on the highway, found a suicide note on the guy. Messed him up a bit. I could only imagine patrons and staff at the facility.

here's an article that jumps right to preaching.....
"The community has shown safety concerns for years over the rising cases of gun violence. The general public should not have easy access to dangerous weapons. Access to firearms should only be granted with certification and license. Before allocating a firearm license, adequate background checks and mental stability tests should be conducted

Furthermore, the stores providing the firearms should be educated about the signs of depression and self-harm so they can remain vigilant and report anyone with the symptoms to the authorities immediately instead of handing them a weapon with which they can potentially harm others or themselves."

How many others missed/ignored suicidal signs before she did herself in at a gun range? I wouldn't be surprised if she had a history of mental illness and (obviously) failed treatment.

here's an article that jumps right to preaching.....
Of course that website is in the UK where guns are banned, so the BS in that article should be expected.