• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

10/22 Build Idea...opinions?

Viper22

NES Member
I'm looking at getting a ruger 10/22 as soon as my permit comes in. I'm thinking I want to make it into a target gun, and have settled on the stock; a Predator Gunstocks Raptor. Its the grey colored stock, and I want all exposed metal to be black. Since I'm new at the customizing, I'd like some opinions on which barrels are best for target shooting (I'll be shooting at an outdoor range), and what modifications should I make to the internals. I've been doing some research online, but I'd like to get some opinions on what products are worth the money.

Thanks.

In my opinion, if you're a relatively new shooter, shoot it mostly stock for a while before you dump a bunch of money into it. That's my situation, and my plan. I'm doing the basic "Liberty Trainer Rifle" upgrades, and that's it.
Tech Sights, auto bolt release, extended mag release, target hammer, and sling.

Having built a bunch of these I'm jump in too. Gotta kinda decide a couple thigns first. 1) how big is the budget for this build and 2) what aspect is most important - looks or performance?