• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Worst gun ever

What was the biggest POS you have owned? What about it caused it to win that title? What prompted you to want it in the first place? How did you finally dump it?

I'm fairly new to shooting, so any gun is more accurate and reliable than I am. My worst experience was with an S&W M&P40 1.0. The mass compliant trigger really sucked, but an apex kit solved that problem. Now it is a pretty nice gun.

Lets hear some bad stories!

Worse gun I owned and still have is a high point carbine in 9mm. Bought it because it was cheap and I wanted a 9mm carbine. Kept getting cheek slapped no matter what I did. I haven't bothered to dump it yet as I might play around with replacing the stock or something to see if I can improve it.

AMT BACK-UP DAO .380. What a hunk of dog shit. Bought it back in early 2000s from the worst gun store in MA, the GUN ROOM. [rofl] I quickly discovered that you could only clean
it by driving out a roll pin. Also if you dry fired it enough the firing pins would break. A machinist made me a new firing pin. I think I ended up doing a gun shop trade in somewhere on something better, I don't even remember what I got for it in the end, I honestly didn't care, just wanted it gone. Also the trigger was about 900 lbs.

I have had a few other clunkers, but nothing ever came close to that piece of shit. Not even the seecamp .32.

-Mike

AMT Backup 380. It was an impulse buy. The only saving grace was that I made money on it when I sold it.

Great minds..... [rofl] I don't think I made jack shit on it, I think at the time I had practically begged for a dealer to take it off my hands. I think I traded that and something
else up into a S&W 617 or something like that. At least that gun was a quality gun.

ETA: Yours was probably the non DAO version, but they were all hunks of shit.

-Mike