• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Thank you, Derek, for starting NES

dwarven1

Lonely Mountain Arms
I got to thinking yesterday about how my life has changed since I stumbled across NorthEastShooters back in 2005.

My gun collection has increased - by a LOT. I've learned a lot, and I'm a better shooter than I was. I've gotten involved in Appleseed, IDPA, Steel Challenge and pin shooting. I'm an instructor with both Appleseed and the NRA. I have a will that dictates where my guns will go when I die (and yes, this is because of Derek - bear with me).

I've met a LOT of good people, and made some good friends. MrsWildWeasel, Luv2BFree, Lupis42, Jay G, Mark056, AbiffMaster, N1ZFG, Nickle, Jwilson, JonJ, LenS, Pilgrim, MrTwigg, Cross-X (who wrote that will I mentioned!), MrsMagnum, Frosty... I can think of dozens more without trying hard!

What sparked this? Well... I was in Clinton yesterday at IDC (yeah, blame Derek again for it - I probably wouldn't have known about it without NES) and saw Mark056 walk in. We greeted each other like the Brothers we are, and I got to thinking how cool it was to be out somewhere and run into someone you know. This might not be a big thing for you natives, but as most of you know, I moved up here from NJ... so while I do have a circle of friends up here that I've met over the last 2+ decades, I don't often just meet them on the street.

So, Derek... I'm very glad that back in 2005 you got the idea to start a gun forum. My life has been enriched by the people I've met on NES and the new experiences I've tried, and I just wanted to say a public "thank you".

Aw, shucks Ross. I agree though. I have met many great people here, and also watched the board grow. Many I call friend also.

Without adding to the salivation left on the boss' posterior I wholeheartedly agree.

You are a good guy Ross, even though you were from Jersey.