Shotguns - Benelli or Remington

mbz4ever

Dealer
NES Member
Im totally new to shotgun world.
but I feel that i should finally get one. At this moment im looking at Benelli SuperNova Pump Action 12GA or Remington 870.
the main use is for home defense and some hunting

I like the 870. It's very reliable and I think it's a good value for the money. I've thought about buying/trying out others but my 870 hasn't given me any reason to look for something new. Also, it's very easy to clean and switch barrels.

Best bet is to visit your club, and try on some different guns for size. Even with identical specs, one may "feel right."

Most shotgunners are happy to share!

I've seen, more than once, a shooter with the "wrong" gun being driven nuts, becuae he couldn't hit any targets (and to make up for that, it was kicking the crap out of him). But he "knew" it was right, as he'd been told so, and spent a lot of $.

Take your time and you'll be happier in the long run.

I have tried both, and I recommend Remington, get the magnum version , I think it is heavier duty.

As an owner of an 870 who just recently shot MassMarks Benelli snt, I like the snt better. I can't speak to it's track record, but it shoots softer than my Remmy. The 3.5 buckshot in the Benelli is way softer than 3'' buckshot in my 870. I don't mind recoil, but if there are lots of pumkins that need killin', I'll take the Benni every time.

Browning BPS. I love mine. It take a little while to get used to loading the thing, but I love the way mine handles.

You can get a lot of aftermarket parts, accessories for the 870. Probably more than exist for the Benelli.

I have a Benelli Supernova with 26" barrel in Mossy Oak and love it. With the 3.5 inch magnum shells, there is less recoil than in an 870 magnum or a mossberg. But, there is still plenty of recoil with those shells.