• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Shotgun Capacity/Questiions in Massachusetts

I'm a bit of a noob, new to the forums.

I was wondering what the legal size for the magazine tube on a pump action shotgun in Massachusetts. I am looking to get a Remington 870, and hoping its not too neutered.

Also is it legal to buy a pistol grip and throw it on there for home defence?

Thanks in advance everyone :)

The legal size for magazine capacity depends on what type of a license you have. If you have an FID then you are limited to 5 rounds. If you have an LTC-B or LTC-A you can have whatever you like. (assuming tube-fed shotguns and NOT magazine fed)

As for the pistol grip, I believe the law states that if you have a semi automatic rifle with a removable magazine you are limited by the AWB (assault weapons ban). Since you do not have a rifle I do not believe you are legally prohibited from affixing a pistol grip to your shotgun.

Given that it's after 10pm on halloween weekend I'm far too lazy to look up the cites for these statements (although I'm 95% sure they're correct) but someone will correct me if I'm wrong because everyone likes correcting someone.

Depends on the type of license you are issued.

With an FID card, it is five

With an LTC-A, over 5.

Pistol grips are always illegal.

There are many other experts in the ma gun "laws" here, I am sure they will weigh in. Expect to be lectured.

I was wondering what the legal size for the magazine tube on a pump action shotgun in Massachusetts. I am looking to get a Remington 870, and hoping its not too neutered.

Pump shotgun capacity is unlimited. Semi-auto capacity is regulated by license type...

FID holders - capacity is limited to 5 or less.
LTC holders - capacity is unlimited.

Also is it legal to buy a pistol grip and throw it on there for home defence?

Yes.

Last edited:

With an LTC-A, over 5.