Response from MA Senator Donnelly regarding Katrina Bill

This email was sent on January 20th 2009
Mr. Donnelly
I am a lifelong resident of ____ and it has come to my attention that a nicknamed "Katrina" bill had been held up during the last legislative session.

The bill has been revised and re-submitted. It has not yet been assigned a number.

This bill serves to protect the rights of lawful gun owners during a state of emergency.

I urge you to support this legislation as it allows people to maintain the ability to protect themselves and their families in dire circumstances.

Feel free to contact me should you have any questions or would like to discuss this bill.

-Underwhere

I received a reply today June 30th, 2009
Dear Mr. Undewhere,
Thank you for recently contacting my office regarding gun rights.

While I understand your feelings regarding the need for lawful gun owners to protect themselves and their families during a state of emergency, I am concerned about dangerous people using weapons and ammunition to exploit a time of crisis for their own gain. In this instance, I believe that it is in the best interest of the community to allow police and other law enforcement officials to do their jobs quickly and effectively without the fear of an increase in armed crimes.

Again, Thank you for contacting me and letting me know where you stand on this issue. Please don’t hesitate to call or email me if there is anything I can do to assist you.

Sincerely,
Sen. Ken Donnelly

So...gun owners = dangerous people using weapons and ammunition to exploit a time of crisis for their own gain.

I wasn't expecting a good response. This was worse than I expected.

Last edited:
I believe that it is in the best interest of the community to allow police and other law enforcement officials to do their jobs quickly and effectively without the fear of an increase in armed crimes.
Ya, that worked real well in NOLA[thinking]