• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

OUT OF STATE GUNS

I AM A RESIDENT OF MASS WITH LTC HERE AND IN FLA (NON RESIDENT) IF I PURCHASE A NON COMPLIANT PISTOL, LIKE A KIMBER. OR CUSTOM MADE 1911. CAN I BRING IT HOME AND REGISTER IT HERE.

If you do not have a residence in FL (for example, a vacation home that you own), then you can't have a handgun transferred to you there.

If you do have a residence, then you can indeed buy a pistol there, bring it home to MA, and do an FA10 registration within 7 days.

IANAL

You may not purchase a handgun in a state other than which you reside. Owning property does not make you a resident. You indicate that you have a Florida Non-resident permit. Therefore, I do not believe that an FFL in Florida will sell to you, for you to bring back.

If you have legitimate dual-residence status, that may be a different story, but from what you posted in the OP, I'd say that it's a no-no.

Again, IANAL, and I may have it wrong, but if this were the case, then everybody would buy a piece of "property" in a free state, and not worry about the Mass. issues.

Also, TURN OFF YOUR CAPS LOCK. [laugh]

IANAL

You may not purchase a handgun in a state other than which you reside. Owning property does not make you a resident. You indicate that you have a Florida Non-resident permit. Therefore, I do not believe that an FFL in Florida will sell to you, for you to bring back.

If you have legitimate dual-residence status, that may be a different story, but from what you posted in the OP, I'd say that it's a no-no.

Again, IANAL, and I may have it wrong, but if this were the case, then everybody would buy a piece of "property" in a free state, and not worry about the Mass. issues.