• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Open Carry in MA?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've opened carried several times around my town and surrounding areas (I'm right near the city too like greater metro Boston areas, I'm not in the bum****s) I am mostly in business/dress clothing and I'm pretty tall and of athletics build ( my girl says I look like a cop) maybe that's why I have never noticed people even bat an eye. I get asked very frequently at a check out line by the clerk if I'm a police officer.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I see no advantage for open carrying in MA and plenty of possibilities for it to go wrong in a big way (police reacting badly, chief pulling your LTC, someone claiming you threatened then, perp trying grab your gun, etc).

It seems to me that some of the open carry activists are attention whores who get a boost in their ego when others know they are carrying.

This is the primary reason I carry concealed. That, and, if I was a bad guy entering a place or situation intent on creating mayhem, if I saw someone with a gun I'd shoot him first. Keeping it concealed is a tactical advantage which might save my life.

I think the actual tactical timmy bullshit is overblown (advantage, getting assaulted for gun, surprise, etc) but I agree with Rob in the respect of the legal circus bullshit- if someone sees you with a gun, you get into a verbal spat with them, if they're a douchebag they will rat you out to the kopsch and lie about the encounter. That stuff happens all the time.

-Mike

I see no advantage for open carrying in MA and plenty of possibilities for it to go wrong in a big way (police reacting badly, chief pulling your LTC, someone claiming you threatened then, perp trying grab your gun, etc).