• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

One more reason I like 147 grain in 6.5 creedmore

When I first went to 6.5 CM I started shooting Hornady 147g ELD match cartridges. You could well make the argument that for out to 1000 yards the 140 or 120 or even lighter bullets would be a better choice and I would agree with you.

But I stay with the 147 g for a few reasons (Some of which is being lazy, some more if it ain’t broke don’t fix it)

1. I never had a miss I would blame on the bullet
2. Factory ammo is consistent in performance and I have no problem using them in a match and have done so
3. I have a recipe for hand loading the same bullet that in my rifle performs the same. My first match I shot half the match with factory and the second half with hand loads using same dial up data.
4. When it is time to go hunting, I can move to the Hornady 143 grain ELD-X hunting bullet, and out to 250 or 300 yards I can use the same dial up data as the 147 g target ammo. The little difference in point of impact ( inch or two) doesn’t matter to a deer (I’ve taken three now from 150 to 200 yards)

so I’m good to stay with 147 grain ammo. However yesterday I added one more reason to the list. I had just shot a 5 shot group on a 12” wide steel plate ( with fresh paint) at 500 yards with the147 g match. About a six inch group. The group was about as high as it was wide, and in spite of holding .7 or .8 mil into wind I hadn’t landed a shot on windward half of plate so group was no more than 6” wide

So as I was going into ammo box for more ammo, I saw a box of the 143 hunting ammo, and had the bright idea to try it at 500 yards with the same scope setting I just used with the 147 grain bullet to see how much it missed by. (Since I can’t see a deer past 300 yards where I hunt and a shot past 250 is unlikely, I have never tested it past 300 yards)