• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Dual residency 411???

rkwjunior

NES Member
Hello, just have a few questions about being a resident of 2 states, and buying and selling in both. I'm sure theres plenty here that can answer.

If i buy a pistol in say... Florida, were I am a resident, do i have to leave that gun in Florida, or can it be brought to Mass for use at the range and CCW (with an LTC A of course)?? Also If i wanted to permanantly keep the handgun in Mass, can i do so?? What about selling the pistol in Mass??? Does it have to be Mass compliant?? And vice versa, buying in Mass and selling in Florida etc.etc.???

Thanx

Follow the transportation laws, and you can bring them back and forth, as for the sales, I believe if you bought it in Fla, you can't sell in Ma, unless you went through the Ma registration process first.

Is either of your LTC's a non res permit?

Follow the transportation laws, and you can bring them back and forth, as for the sales, I believe if you bought it in Fla, you can't sell in Ma, unless you went through the Ma registration process first.

Is either of your LTC's a non res permit?

I don't have a Florida residency, i'm asking for my father who is going to be getting his Florida residency, and ccw. He already has his Mass LTC-A.

So, are you saying that he would have to transfer/register it to himself on an FA-10???

Last edited:
Not 100% on this. I do know, in order to sell a firearm, it has to be registered to you, and you have to hold a valid LTC in the same state as the buyer. Otherwise, an FFL is needed for the transaction.

Last edited: