• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Dual Residence

Hi Forum!

Hoping someone can help and shed some light on the ‘approved’ or ‘MA compliant’ list of firearms, or general discussion around my situation;

Backstory:

Here in Ma, the prices for used Glocks and AR’s (for example) are through the roof expensive vs. other states new prices. So, what I had realized was, I am a dual resident in Maine (parents own a condo of which I am on the tax bill which is good enough to be considered a dual resident).

My question:

Before I head to Maine and return toting a fully kitted up AR, a Glock with 17 round mags, where do I need to draw the line to ensure whatever purchase I make is ‘MA compliant’???

Being military (over 17 years), and having extensive firearms training, you’d think MA would be smart enough and provide a similar exemption that the LE get regarding types / laws. But, then again, this is MA after all.

Oh, yes, I am a fully licensed LTC holder here in MA!

Thanks all!

Shawn

Last edited:
You have mixed MULTIPLE topics in one question.

MA Compliance for handguns is for dealers and not inmates so stop worrying about it

AWB Compliance is about not having an illegal assault weapon. So follow the AWB and limit yourself to one evil feature on your pistol, rifle or shotgun (you can easily lookup the list of evil features for each)

No pistol or rifle magazines over 10rds unless manufactured before 13-sep-1994
No shotgun magazines over 5rds unless manufactured before 13-sep-1994

MGL 140 131M
MGL 140 121

You AR needs to be made compliant first before coming into Mass.

You NEED a pistol grip...

So...

You have to remove the bayonet lug. (Some people say if it started with a bayonet log you can't remove it and be legal)

You must install and pin a muzzle brake. It must be classified as such by the ATF.