• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Buying a firearm in NH

I'm currently a CT resident. I do not have a CT Pistol or Long Gun permit. I had a CCW permit years ago, shot on a league, bla, bla, bla but let it expire as my X and I had expected to move to AZ.

Fast forward 15 years....

I bought property 7 years ago in NH and built a small cabin on it. Is there anything stopping me from buying a long gun over the counter while in NH and keeping it up there on my property? Said long gun may not pass silly CT law(s) but will never be bought back into CT anyway...

I believe BATFE rules allow you to claim residency in NH - I'd bring a tax bill or something to prove this, since I assume your ID says CT. Some shops won't honor that though and you'll be SOL with them.

From my research you can be a resident of 2 states for the purchase of fire arms. Getting a NH dealer to accept proof of residency when your driver license says CT is your hurdle. I'd suggest you call a shop and ask what they would accept for proof of residency in NH.

As whacko says, you're going to need to prove residency in NH to buy the firearm in NH.

Federal law says that you can buy a long arm in any state so long as you can legally purchase that long arm in your state of residency. CT now has ammo permit, long arm permit, pistol permit, and one other that I keep forgetting that Jared keeps reminding me of. The point being - you specifically can't purchase in NH as a CT resident because you no longer can purchase legally in CT. So, you're going to need to purchase in NH as a NH resident.

I've done this hundreds of times. State issued ID (Drivers License) combined with a property tax bill with YOUR NAME on it, Voter ID card, etc.