AR-15 sight questions

Prepper

NES Member
I'm still pretty new to rifles, with my Ruger 10/22 (scoped) that I've had for a few years and have taken to the range many times, plus the new AR-15 (Bushmaster) that I bought earlier this year and took to the range for the second time today.

My first impression that I got each time to the range with my AR-15 is "WOW, I really SUCK", and I was glad there was no one else at the range to witness how much I totally SUCK. We're talking 3 to 6 inches off the bulls eye at just 25 yards. Using a rest didn't help things any either; it's clearly inaccurate because I'm pointing it the wrong way and the bullets have the nerve of going where I actually point. I only put 20 rounds through it each trip with the AR since I was doing so badly that I figured it wasn't worth doing any more just yet (especially at the current cost of 223's) until I try to figure out what's going wrong here.

I'm confident its the sights that I'm not sure how to use properly. The sights on other guns are pretty straightforward... line up the thing in the middle between the things to the left and right of it. With the AR, I'm trying to put the peg (of the front sight) in the middle of the circle (rear sight) but I'm still ending up way off (mostly way too high) as I'm finding it hard to center that peg. Plus, I'm in MA where collapsible stocks are EVIL (or just illegal) so I can't do anything to get my eye a little closer so that I can line things up better with the left and right sides of the front sight (I can't even see them).

Anyway, is it worth me attempting to figure out how to use the factory-provided sights, or should I replace them with something else that'd be easier to use (or even a scope) and go with that? What do most people with AR type guns use at the range?