AR-15 Shopping List: First Time Builder

BW23

NES Member
Hey Hey All,

Could you experienced AR builders help me out with a good shopping list for an AR-15 Build? Please list out the parts and/or kits with the manufacturer and seen price? If possible shipping cost too.

My Objective: Build a good mil-spec AR-15 for around $850. Buying parts here and there as funds become available.
My Comparison: I love the Stag Arms Model 3 but I of course I need some sights [smile].
Needs: 5.56 calibur, Mil Spec parts
Wants: Flip up sights and/or Rod Dot Sight

First Big Question: Can I build an AR-15 similar to Stag Model 3 and cheaper, Under $850??

My AR-15 Grocery List so far:
1) Spike's Stripped Lower Receiver ($125) - [Bought]

Like I said, I'm a first time builder but looking forward to building my own AR. I just want to do it right the first time. I've seen several video tutorials and seems fun. Of course any tips you have would be great too!

Thanks!
BW

I just posted a picture in the members forum of the one I built on a NES group buy lower that came in right at the price you are looking for. The upper is a RRA mid length flat top. It can be done with careful shopping.

What level of building are you actually looking to do?

This.

Stag 3H upper MSRP at $465 (this is complete)
Your lower 125
LPK by RRA 69 (@ Acme)
Buttstock ~ $60 - 120
Total $ 719 - 779

Sights, (Acme prices)
Magpul MBUS, $38.95 front & $64.95 rear = $103.90
BSA RD30 red dot $40
Millet RD00005 red dot $74.49

Building an AR for ~ $850 = do able.

Last edited:
What level of building are you actually looking to do?

Bear with me....what levels are there? Essentially I would like to assembly every piece i can. Figured this is the most fun and cheapest way. If i'm grossly wrong please tell me. Acme posted some good info and it had a completed upper. How much less is it if i build the upper??

I found some good helpful sights on step by step assembling instructions for a complete lower and upper builds.