• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

After Action Report: Ridgeline Scoped Carbine May 29th & 30th 2021

DarthRevan

NES Member
I am a paper pusher engineer with no military or LEO experience. I am 30 years old, fat, and out of shape. Civilian as f***.
I have done two Appleseed shoots (both winterseeds) and have earned a patch at the second one.
Overall I found this to be a very informative and helpful course even if you're not all that experienced with long range shooting but have decent to good fundamentals already established. I missed some parts here and there but I am aiming to go over everything from memory before I forget any more than I already have.

Rifle Gear:
FNH 16" 1/7 twist barrel
77gr .223 rounds with Sierra Matchking projectiles
Trijicon x3-18 TenMile FFP scope on a American Defense Mfg QD Mount
Trijicon SRO on Arisaka 45 degree mount
Harris 9-13" tilting bipod
OneTigris rear bag, multicam

image0.jpeg

Day One:

Class started at 0900, 9 students and 3 instructors, an insanely good ratio imo. Some cops, some veterans, couple of pure civies.
The southern boys taking the class with us didn't like the mid/high 50's and overcast saturday and high 40's into rain showers sunday. I thought it was f***ing perfect weather and @jhagberg88 and I only wore a flannel or sweater and jokingly gave them shit the whole time. "Welcome to summer in New England!"

We discussed the usual safety briefings, overall course goals, and covered some scoped rifle shooting fundamentals.

• Essential components on/used by the rifle
    • Scope
      • Get one that you know how to use, be it SFP or FFP, and preferably in MRAD/MILS. But if you bring one in MOA, they will know how to translate for your optic.
      • If needed get a cantilevered mount if you need to move the optic far enough forward with your current stock
    • Stock