• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Woukd i legally be able to purchase a long gun in Vermont if I'm a Mass resident if I leave it in Vermont?

Does Vermont do background checks, would I need to transfer thr rifle or shotgun to Mass, do I need ID? I'd love a rifle for the purpose of just target practice at a range. I only work in Vermont I have to drive through. Just curious what the laws are like, thanks for any help.

You’re subject to the laws of the state that you are currently within, not where your legal home address is.
You can only buy a long gun out of state from an FFL. That FFL is required to follow the laws of his state of operation AND your state of residence.

An FFL in a state other than your home state is not going to sell you something that violates the law in your home state if they do they are incredibly stupid. Expect any gun you buy outside of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts to be Massachusetts compliant. The amount of evil features will be limited

An FFL in a state other than your home state is not going to sell you something that violates the law in your home state if they do they are incredibly stupid. Expect any gun you buy outside of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts to be Massachusetts compliant. The amount of evil features will be limited

Unless it’s a pre-ban rifle.

I think the OP lives in Boston so there is still the Boston AWB to consider IIRC.

Oh really? Please elaborate.
From the ATF FAQ. See the part I have bolded below.

May a licensee sell a firearm to a nonlicensee who is a resident of another state?​