Woods Gun and Wife Advice

We're very close to closing a deal on my wife's dream to have a cabin in the woods. Don't get me wrong, I'm a writer and Im psyched to have a place to go to concentrate and be calm for a stretch as I like. So we're going through all of the property closing information when the previous/current owner puts a bug in her ear about the wildlife - black bear, brown bear (rarely) and feral pigs - his term, which I can only interpret as boar?

Can anyone tell by this that I grew up in the city?

Anyway, I didn't think all that much of it until I was driving back to civilization with her.

"Chris, how hard is it to get a gun and do we have a handgun that can handle a bear?"

I have to say guys, that question ranks up as the 3rd best thing I've heard from her, preceded only by "Im pregnant" and "Yes, Ill marry you."

SO that got me to thinking - DO I have a woods gun? I own a 686 in 4" that I carry from time to time IWB. Other than that, for handguns, a Glock 30 and that's it.

SO my questions are:

Is a .357 good enough for bear?
If Not, a larger caliber that isn't going to scare my previously anti wife to death?

You don't need to outrun the bear, you only need to outrun your wife.

Wait, what was the question?

15331558.jpg

I've never felt threatened by bears when up to camp, but these days I keep a 4" .357 on my pack.

I grew up in Maine. Used to hike for miles in the woods, unarmed, as a kid. Never had a problem with bears, but they are out there. Also I've always had a dog(s) with me, running perimeter security.

I've seen black bear at campgrounds, loafing around, looking to score some burgers and beer.

If you don't attract them with open trash, bird feeders, etc, they are less likely to come around.

Never had to deal with Brown Bears or hogs.