Why do most clubs in MA require an NRA membership to join?

I'm currently a member of Harvard Sportsmen's and it's a great place and the club officers do a great job. I also used to be a member of MRA. Both of these places require an NRA membership to join. Can anyone tell me why that's a prerequisite?

I ask, because as a Massachusetts resident, I'm not very enthusiastic with the NRA's level of support for the burden gun owners live under in this state. As an example of what the NRA does for people in other states, see here:

http://www.northeastshooters.com/vbulletin/threads/120206-California-ammo-ban-dead.

So, as an alternative, would it be possible to have a GOAL membership as an alternative prerequisite? Or maybe make a donation to Comm2A?

I think it might have to do with club affiliation. If MRA and HSC are NRA affiliated clubs, then it might be a requirement of the affiliation. The NRA also provides insurance, and I bet dollars to doughnuts, if either of these clubs are on their insurance, that members of the clubs must also be NRA members.

-Mike

I think it might have to do with club affiliation. If MRA and HSC are NRA affiliated clubs, then it might be a requirement of the affiliation. The NRA also provides insurance, and I bet dollars to doughnuts, if either of these clubs are on their insurance, that members of the clubs must also be NRA members.

-Mike

Thanks Mike. That makes sense, especially the insurance part.

I'm currently a member of Harvard Sportsmen's and it's a great place and the club officers do a great job. I also used to be a member of MRA. Both of these places require an NRA membership to join. Can anyone tell me why that's a prerequisite?

I ask, because as a Massachusetts resident, I'm not very enthusiastic with the NRA's level of support for the burden gun owners live under in this state. As an example of what the NRA does for people in other states, see here: