• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Which Ar if you have a budget of about 1200 and want the best bang for the buck (Ma)

Hi first of I really appreciate your opinions. I know a similar question has probably been asked but, I am kind of on a limited budget for this one. My question is if you had about 1200 to spend either new or used and wanted to buy a shooter that you could put a decent amount of rounds through, but still be able to really on it for protection if the Zombie apocalypse ever does happen. I am a complete newbie to this platform other than the S&W MP 15-22 that I love. It has a very inexpensive red dot that I really like. So I don't know if I need a flattop optics ready gun or it can go on a gun with a carry handle? I also was curios about gas piston or no gas piston. Any advise would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in Advance....Jason

Thanks Mike I am not sure i would ever no where to start. I wish I was more familiar with this platform. You generally get complet uppers and lowers ? Or stripped and build out. Thank you!

I was in a similar boat price wise. Being very new to AR's I decided to buy rather than build.

I bought a S&W MP15 T and have absolutely no regrets. I paid just under 1k.

My next will be a build now that I have built up a solid familiarity with the platform.

In my price I was considering maybe trying to get a Windham Weapondry, I did my research and like the spikes tactical till I saw the year wait. I am going to do some shopping this weekend. Thanks for the great advise, please keep it coming

In my price I was considering maybe trying to get a Windham Weapondry, I did my research and like the spikes tactical till I saw the year wait. I am going to do some shopping this weekend. Thanks for the great advise, please keep it coming