Shotgun Deer season

Good luck and be safe everybody. I only have 1 day of vacation left before the end of the year so its Saturdays only for me.

Hey this is my first year deer hunting. The law says that you can hunt 1/2 hour before dawn for deer. Does that mean I have to wait until then to walk into the woods or I just can't call/shoot before that time?

Hey this is my first year deer hunting. The law says that you can hunt 1/2 hour before dawn for deer. Does that mean I have to wait until then to walk into the woods or I just can't call/shoot before that time?

I was taught to not load my gun until 30 mins before but YMMV. I've always walked in well before then just with unloaded gun. And no matter what the law, seems like a smart strategy. I don't want to be temped to shoot at a "deer" when I don't have enough light to see its a golden retriever. Or a 60 year old woman.

You can go into the woods at 1am if you really want to but no shooting can occur until 30 mins before sunrise...I've found when bow hunting you cant see well enough to see your pins until 30 mins before sunrise anyways...

Good Luck all; stay safe. Unfortunately I can't get out until the end of the week. [sad]

- - - Updated - - -

I was taught to not load my gun until 30 mins before but YMMV. I've always walked in well before then just with unloaded gun. And no matter what the law, seems like a smart strategy. I don't want to be temped to shoot at a "deer" when I don't have enough light to see its a golden retriever. Or a 60 year old woman.

+1 I heard a former EPO say one time that he waited at the trailheads after the end of legal light for people clearing their tubes and he would bust them for hunting after hours.

I'm heading out too.....only one vacation day available so this is about the only shot I got

5 of us went into a spot we know holds deer. 3 of us push to 2 guys and one of them took his first deer at about 8:30. Nice clean shot right through the ticker.
20131202_081446.jpg