• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

security guards and Handcuffs....

ok, ive got a question for some of you who are hopefully a little more knowledgeable than i am in Massachusetts law ...

......ok, i work as a security guard part time......and i know i really cant do much in the way of detaining people......im more or less a second pair of eyes and ears for the police officers on duty that day.........

but the other day i was at Target, and i noticed the security guard (yes, he was a guard and not a police officer) at the front of the store had a pair of handcuffs.....and instantly i thought..

..."whoa!, wait a minute....he cant actually use those can he?"...

then i remembered seeing a mall security guard with a pair of handcuffs several weeks ago....

so im just wondering, can a security guard actually detain people....or is that just a law suit waiting to happen?

Last edited:
You probably saw a Loss Prevention Officer, who has more authority to detain in Mass. than a standard security guard does.

so im just wondering, can a security guard actually detain people....or is that just a law suit waiting to happen?

Same citizens arrest powers as any other regular Joe in Mass.

http://masscases.com/cases/app/11/11massappct165.html