• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Rim fire scope recommendation

1903Collector

NES Member
So after a six month wait I am the proud owner of a shiny new CZ455 varminter in .22WMR. It needs glass, My budget is $300-400. Any suggestions? I am leaning toward a Leupold but the rimfire scope from Vortex caught my eye but I have no experience with that brand.

Tx

i've got this cheapie simmons scope on my savage mark II and i'm shocked how well it works. best $40 i've ever spent. tight groups at 100 yards all day long. holds zero nicely and easily adjustable.

http://www.amazon.com/Simmons-TruPl...d=1407417987&sr=1-3&keywords=simmons+22+scope

if you're looking for fancier glass then of course there are many nicer options....just figured i would throw this cheap idea out there.

I've got no complaints about the two Vortex's I've got - one Crossfire, the other's a Diamondback. Nothing wrong with Leupold, either.

I'd also look at the Mueller APV (or APT if you want a mildot reticle). Good scopes for the money, my default scope for rimfires. If I were scoping a hunting rimfire I'd spring for better glass than the APV, but for a plinker or range rifle the Mueller is excellent.

Sticking with your budget, I'd go with the Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40AO for that rifle. I prefer AO scopes for rimfires.

Midway has a Ziess on sale for $399, has great reviews but it's not AO. to many damn choices..lol! Right now the leading contender is the Vortex that KMM recommended with a set of Talley rings. In poking around the internet it seems quite a few people prefer the AO in rimfire scopes, most of the scopes I have looked at so far the parallax is set at 50.

Thanks for the recommendations so far everyone. keep em coming.

I've got a Nikon Prostaff Rimfire 3-9x40 on my 10/22, awesome scope for the money. Way below $300-$400.

Congrats. Huge CZ rimfire fan myself.