Rifles and deers?

I searched but couldn't find anything....

As far as I know, there are only 3 methods for hunting deer: bow and arrow (no thanks), muzzle loader (maybe when i'm older), and shotgun (maybe!).

Now, why is it that there's no rifle season in MA?

I'd like to pick up a .223 or .243 or maybe even take my .30-06 out and try for a distance deer. I figure my chances are better if they're further out, 'cause I've got no deer hunting experience.

Insights are nwelcome, and feel free to correct me in a condescending-Scrievner-like manner if I'm wrong about the lack of a rifle season. [laugh]

rifles are not allowed in MA and some parts in most states are restricted to shotgun only because of high populations. the whole non logic behind it is that shotgun slugs can only travel 100 or so yards and rifles can travel up to 2 miles, this came from the days of buckshot and smooth bore slug guns. todays shotgun slugs are so advanced that they can travel 300 yards accurately with the proper slug gun set up.some studies have shown that hunting with shotguns are not any safer than hunting with rifles, some have even shown that hunting with rifles is safer than hunting with shotguns.

muzzleloader season was set up as a extra season for traditional black powder hunters to go experience what is was like for there forefathers to harvest deer with a flintlock or cap lock. todays in-line muzzle loaders can travel just as far as normal rifles... makes sense right[rolleyes]. IMO muzzleloader should be just traditional cap and ball or flintlock in spirit of the season or make a separate season for in-lines and a season for flintlocks like in PA.

Last edited:
IMO muzzleloader should be just traditional cap and ball or flintlock in spirit of the season or make a separate season for in-lines and a season for flintlocks like in PA.