• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Reason(s) for requesting your 2A rights:

So sitting here with my bowl of cereal, watching some goofy tv and filling out my LTC application. All went easily (got tired of writing No) until I got to:

Reason(s) for requesting the issuance of a card or license:

So... I know my knee jerk reaction is wrong. Since I'm not a constitutional lawyer, I probably shouldn't write about the 2nd amendment.

Is "All legal purposes" sufficient? Or should I expect a challenge and being required to provide exact use cases? To be honest I don't have much of a care for concealed carry, but I don't want to be restricted in any way, makes legal concerns much easier to figure out.

Also if it matters, Somerville, MA where someone recently got a first application LTC-A ALP without any extenuating circumstances per a PM.

I left that part blank, and asked about it when I took the interview. The licensing officer filled it in for me, I think he wrote "ALP".

Or maybe : All Regal Porpoises.
^ Good way to get denied right? Hahaha.

So the only thing I worry about is them not liking my lack of gun club.

Yeah I PM'ed #2195.
Told me the name of the officer that treated him decently. I just hope to get the same officer. I live about 4 blocks from the PD so I can pretty much go whenever.

'All lawful purposes' SHOULD be all that's necessary, in any jurisdiction.

That is all that I or my Wife have ever put down on a MA, NH or FL (not sure they ask) application. Sadly some PDs won't accept that . . . I suspect mine to be one of those, but since the Chief and Lt both know us personally they don't give us any grief about it.

So the answer will depend on the town PDs propensity for reading essays. [thinking] [rolleyes]

Yeah I PM'ed #2195.