New(-ish) XD owner!!!

WOOOOHOOOOO!!!!! Just picked up my new (used) XD-40 subcompact today from R&L Archery in Barre, VT. Came with three magazines (two standard 9 rounders, and the extended 12 round magazine), the XD gear holster, and the xml light. I'm pretty pumped. I've been wearing it around the house all day to get used to it.
Bought a case of tarket ammo and a box of hydroshocks too. By the time I walked out of the store I spent just under $560 (bought some ice fishing stuff too).
I was really excited when I got there 'cause I had been eyeing another used XD-40 SC on their gun list for about 4 months. I drove over to pick it up two weeks ago and they had literally sold it 4 days before I got there. I was bummin'. So I called on Monday and asked what they had in stock for XD subcompacts. I was told they had a brand new XD-9 SC for $550. I asked them to put it aside so I could come pick it up today. When I got to the store this morning, WHAT DID I SEE!!!??? Only another used XD-40 SC (the same gun I wanted to begin with) under the glass!!!! I was jumping for joy! So I snatched it up and went home with huge smile on my face. I even forgot to run the errands I had meant to do while I was over there.
Now I need to find someplace to go shoot this beauty. The field where i normally go sight my rifles in has a snowmobile trail that literally runs right through it, so I am balking at that idea.

Another question I ran into today when I was running the errands I forgot to do earlier. I noticed that when I went to pay for the items I bought at the grocery store, whenever i reached my hand into my wallet or front right pocket (to deposit my change) my arm would brush away my shirt and sweatshirt and would reveal the pistol on my hip. Should I take any precautions to avoid this so I don't freak out the cashier/other people?

Sorry for the short essay above. I am just really excited, as I am sure you guys (and hopefully girls) were when you purchased your first pistol.