M1 Carbine fun

hminsky

NES Life Member
NES Member
I brought one of my CMP M1 carbines to the range yesterday. Someone at our club had installed a swinging metal plate target at 100 yards. It was about the size of a dinner plate. He was hitting it with his .308 rifle.

I had my carbine zeroed at 50 yards. I started shooting offhand at the metal plate, and hit it three times in a row. I was totally amazed. First that the M1 carbine is so accurate and easy to shoot, and also that the .30 carbine could easily whack the metal plate from one side to the other. A .223 would barely budge it unless the hit was just in the right spot.

At 100 yards or less, it's at least as accurate to use the iron sights on the M1 carbine than to use a scope, maybe more accurate, I'm pretty sure now.

I have my best chance of hitting a small target with my Carbine over any of my rifles. It just seems to go where I want it to go. Last Easter, the Pilgrims went egg shooting with the Gooses and Steve and I blasted away at eggs with amazing accuracy.

They are really great little guns.

What kind of ammo were you using? I got an M1 carbine from CMP a while back - one of the Inlands, but I haven't had the chance to take out and shoot it yet.

Now that is a crime right there.

Sorry - I know, it is a crime to leave it unused. Unfortunately my spare time got taken up with buying more guns, searching for good deals for my ammo stockpile, spending some time shooting the M1A I bought around the same time, shooting the M&P's I also bought around the same time, and building a large barn (which took up pretty much my whole summer).

I have an gun related excuse for the barn - I need some place to reload and it gives me a good place to shoot airsoft stuff for indoor practice.

I am pretty sure I can shoot the M1 carbine up at Manchester Firing Line (indoors) so I may take it up there soon.