• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Legaly displaying firearms at home in Mass

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have some fine looking rifles that I keep locked up in a safe. What do I have to do to them to legaly hang them on a wall or put them in a glass case? Trigger locks (ugly), remove bolt, maybe firing pin(s)?

I am only a part-time MA resident so what I have to say take with a grain of salt. Some things might affect things more than others, but first off are there any minors in the house? Do you live in the city or out in the sticks? House or apartment? My family house is a log cabin in the Berkshires with no neighbors (except for the deer, bears & turkeys) to have to worry about freaking anyone out. I would think that if your location is remote or your privacy from outsiders is pretty much guaranteed, you should be able to do what you want as long as you are responsible and have some common sense in choosing how to display your collection. If you live in the city or in an apartment/condo where possibly a maintenance man or landlord/manager could come in at any time then you might want to stick to the storage laws to the letter. I dunno...MA is kinda slippery when it comes to firearms.

They must be in a locked container, or trigger locked.
That said, a locking glass cabinet fits the criterior.
But this really provides no security.
A freind father in law disregarded the law and left his Winchesters on the wall and had himself a heart attack.
First on scene was PD.
He read him his rights as the emt's were doing their thing.
He has no more guns.[angry]

Orvis sells a gun cabinet with a glass front that has steel bars securing the firearms. It costs over $6000, but I'm sure someone makes a less expensive version that still works just as well.