Going to PD to file LTC app tips

Hey guys, I'm newest of the new here.
I'm a life-long resident of MA, but have spent every summer as a kid-thru-teenager going down to my relatives down in TN and shooting for weeks at a time. I recently rekindled my interest in firearms and want to honor my grandfather by getting my LTC, though I'm not looking to carry often if at all.

I just finished my hadgun safety course from Rich Laberte out of the Medford PD (which was awesome, highly recommended). Didn't learn any new safety tips that my grandfather hadn't drilled into me EVERY time we shot on his property, but learned EVERYTHING about the legal issues regarding firearms in MA.

But now comes the difficult part, in my mind anyways.

I have the application, gonna fill it out today (sat dec 12) and want to go to Stoneham PD.
Does anybody know if I'd have to see the Chief specifically?
Would he even be in on a weekend?
Anybody with Stoneham PD experience?
I've been told to not give them any warning and just show up, money/app-in-hand, and do it to it.
Basically I don't want to waste a trip there and I'm looking for tips of what to say, not to say, how to make sure I get that Class A. *just re-read that line and didn't mean to rhyme [grin]*

Any and all tips/info would be greatly appreciated.

Congrats and welcome. I have no first-hand knowledge about Stoneham, but it is listed as "Green" so you should be OK. You might want to try searching the forums for folks who went before you. Good luck! [cheers]

I had looked previously on this site and saw that Stoneham was green

HOWEVER

We've gotten a new Chief in the past year or two from.....(sigh) The Peoples Republic of Cambridge

In lieu of flowers, please donate to either my Glock or Sig fund

swing over by Collectors and ask them if they have any insight, tell them you are applying and hope to be back soon to start purchasing toys.