extra nutty Globe Letter to the Editor

rep308

NES Member
OK this has got to be a spoof, this can't be serious right?

Guns, teachers, and self-defense

I AM a math teacher at Brockton High School, the site of a school shooting earlier this month.

Current school security procedures lock down school populations in the event of armed assault. Some advocate abandoning this practice as it holds everyone in place, allowing a shooter easily to find victims.

An alternative to lockdown is immediate exodus via announcement. Although this removes potential hostages and makes it nearly impossible for the shooter to acquire preselected targets, it unfairly rewards resourceful children who move to safety off-site more shrewdly and efficiently than others.

Schools should level playing fields, not intrinsically reward those more resourceful. A level barrel is fair to all fish.

Some propose overturning laws that made schools gun-free zones even for teachers who may be licensed to securely carry concealed firearms elsewhere. They argue that barring licensed-carry only ensures a defenseless, target-rich environment.

But as a progressive, I would sooner lay my child to rest than succumb to the belief that the use of a gun for self-defense is somehow not in itself a gun crime.

DOUG VAN GORDER
Quincy

Here is some more writings of this lunatic:

http://www.stripes.com/article.asp?section=125&article=66163

http://www.wickedlocal.com/quincy/n...ON-Better-to-spread-rights-than-to-hoard-them

Last edited:
It has to be a joke. Here's the text from one of the articles linked in the OP:

Keep diversity at all costs?
Stars and Stripes
Letters to the Editor, Wednesday, November 18, 2009

Immediately after the shootings at Fort Hood, Texas, the Army’s top officer, Gen. George Casey, said, "As horrific as this tragedy was, if our diversity becomes a casualty, I think that’s worse."

The general is spot on.