Cleaning Schedule

So now that I'm a new firearms owner, when it is appropriate to clean it? After so many rounds fired, or maybe once a month? I've heard certain types of ammo is dirty and will cause frequent cleaning... is this true?

I've field stripped my Beretta 92FS but did not clean it because I wasn't prepared to do so.

Also, is a "round" one shot? Or is a "round" one magazine?

I cleaned both of my guns when I first got them and I still clean them after each use. I'm new to guns and I notice alot of other people will sometimes wait. I still have the energy and excitment so I'm all about "the books says to clean .......".

I dont clean after 50 rounds because the gun is that dirty. I clean it because it makes it easier to get the little bit of crud off and it helps me sleep at night.

A "round" is a round of ammunition - one shot.

Cleaning depends on the gun - most modern firearms (including your Beretta) can handle quite a bit of use without needing to be cleaned. Most of my handguns (like my XD, 1911, 92FS, etc) only get cleaned once or twice a year, unless they see extreme use.

Then again, I clean my Smith 686 every time I shoot it because it's stainless and I like to see it stay clean & pretty.

So really, it's up to you - your firearm isn't going to rot or fail to function if you don't clean it every time you shoot it, but some guys like to anyway.

However, be sure you oil your gun regularly - this is a completely seperate issue from cleaning, although some newbies confuse the two. You should oil your gun before and after you shoot it, and if you're shooting a lot (500 round day, for instance), you might want to oil every few hundred rounds.

I just run a patch with some CLP down the bore each time with a dry follow up and a quick clean on the guns metal exterior for fingerprints sweat ... Maybe once a year a field strip.